Christian Persecution in the Middle East

The Telegraph recently reported that Christianity is under threat of being wiped out in the Middle East because of persecution inflicted on the Christians there, according to a report by the think tank Civitas, which was authored by Rupert Shortt. The report can be found here.

The report states that an estimated “200 million Christians (10 per cent of the global total) are [in some way] socially disadvantaged, harassed or actively oppressed for their beliefs” (Shortt viii). It also states that in “the large area between Morocco and Pakistan, for example, there is scarcely a country in which church life operates without restrictions” (Shortt viii).

There are many examples in the report of anti-Christian activity in various middle-eastern countries, far more than I have space for here, so I’ll let you take a look at the report for yourself to get the full picture.

I believe that this persecution of Christians in the Middle East is sad and appalling. I believe this in part because I am a Christian, and as a result of this I don’t like to see fellow Christians being persecuted. I also believe this in part because I believe that we should all accept and (at least, as a bare minimum) get along with each other, because we are all human. Because of this, I believe that no-one has any significant reason to mistreat or malign others, even though we may not agree about everything.

Is there anything we can do to stop religious persecution?

I don’t know. However, I’d be interested to know what you think.

Do you think there is anything that can be done to stop religious persecution?

Leave a Reply

