‘Noah’ Review

Noah‘, as the title suggests, is about Noah, who, under Gods direction, builds an ark to save two of each animal as well as his family from a great flood. The film is quite emotionally intense, especially when it shows the city of the descendants of Cain and later on in the ark (I wont spoil it by telling you what happens). However, I did quite enjoy the film overall. It may not stick exactly to what happens in the Bible, but it’s a fictional film, so I don’t expect it to.

The general plot of the film won’t really come as a surprise to those who are familiar with the Biblical narrative of Noah and the ark, but the film doesn’t stick exactly to the narrative in the Bible, so some details will differ. The plot of the film is entertaining and easy to engage with, which I really enjoyed, and it was quite easy for me to get the point of the film. However, it is quite emotionally intense, especially later in the film, which I enjoyed but may be off-putting for some.

The acting was outstanding. I particularly liked the acting from Russell Crowe and Emma Watson, especially with the emotionally intense scenes later in the film. I found it easy to relate to the characters, even though I won’t be in their exact situation. I also liked the acting from Logan Lerman. Emma Watson and Logan Lerman also starred in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I quite enjoyed, so it was cool to see them both in ‘Noah‘.

There were some parts of the film that I didn’t like, however particularly some of the stuff that happens after the flood occurs. Some of the stuff that happens after the flood was important for closure, such as the family mostly reconciling and Noah passing on the family birthright to his descendants. Aside from that, I think what occurs after the flood wasn’t necessary to include in the film.

Overall, I really enjoyed ‘Noah‘. While there are some parts of the film that I think are unnecessary and it doesn’t stick exactly to the Biblical narrative, it had an interesting and engaging plot and superb performances from the main cast.

Leave a Reply

